48HBC Update # 3

48HBC update 3I can hardly believe it’s already my last day of the 48 Hour Book Challenge.  I’ve done my reading and blogging in shorter increments than last year but so far I’ve still managed to get a lot of reading done–and been reminded how nice it is to just sink into a novel for an uninterrupted hour or more at a time.

Since my last update, I snuck in some reading time before bed last night, a little more early this morning, and then another extended period this afternoon.  And happily, I’ve also finished two more books!

gumazing gum girlLast night, I sped through The Gumazing Gum Girl: Chews Your Destiny by Rhode Montijo and throughly enjoyed its fun take on illustrated chapter books and superhero narratives.  It’s great to see some more diversity in the worlds of both early elementary fiction–especially in a format similar to popular fiction such as Babymouse and Captain Underpants.  It’s a pretty standard story with bright, fun illustrations and relatable characters–that just happens to feature a Latina heroine.  I give it a solid 3 out of 5 stars!

Then this morning I dove into Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu and wow, I can’t believe I let so much time pass before I finally read this middle grade fantasy!

breadcrumbsEven when she can’t see to fit anywhere else–not with her crumbling family or at her new school–Hazel has a place where she feels right: being beside her best friend Jack.  While other kids in 5th grade thinks it’s weird that a boy and a girl are still best friend, Hazel and Jack know that their friendship is something special–they understand each other in ways that no one else does–or could.  Then one day Jack simply stops speaking to Hazel and she feels her world and heart begin to freeze over.   But when Hazel learns that Jack might have been stolen away by a strange woman who looks like she’s made of snow, she decides that it is her duty to rescue him–no matter what strange and dangerous beings she must face in the dark, unknown woods behind their houses.

From its opening pages, Anne Ursu’s multilayered and haunting Snow Queen retelling will grab by the heart and throat and refuse to let you go until you reach its sad, hopeful conclusion.  The prose is just gorgeous and Hazel is such an excellently complicated & human protagonist.  This elegant novel has the rich insight of the best coming of age tales, the careful & resonant details about childhood, difference, and identity (especially in terms of gender, race, and ethnicity) of great realistic fiction, and the twisty enchantment of fabulous fantasy.  Finally, I personally very much enjoyed the references to classic and well-loved children’s fantasy novels throughout the novel.  It’s just awesome–you should read it right now! I want to try to write up a lengthier review after I’ve had to digest but for now I’ll just say that I am totally in love with Breadcrumbs and highly recommend it to a variety of readers.  I also think that this novel would make an excellent read-aloud for younger middle school students (and older middle school students if you had the right setting!).

5 out of 5 stars for me!

48HBC Stats Update

Hours read: 6.5 hours

Hours blogged: 2.25 hours

Books Read: 4 books + 2 short stories

Pages Read: 1,042 pages

Total Challenge Hours: 8.75 hours

 

One thought on “48HBC Update # 3

Leave a Reply

