It’s That Time of Year Again: School’s End & The Ninth Annual 48-Hour Book Challenge

48HBC base graphicWell, we’ve almost reached the end of another school year.  My middle school students have had their recognition ceremony, we’ve almost managed to round up all the overdue library books, and the senior class of 2014 will graduate this weekend.  It’s that time of year when school librarians wrap up the past year while beginning to prepare for the fall–just as our public library counterparts prepare for the onset of summer reading!

And once again, it’s also time for the Ninth Annual 48 Hour Book Challenge, hosted this year by wonderful MotherReader.  This weekend between 7am Friday morning and 7am Monday morning, participants will each read and blog for an individually selected 48 hour period.  I’m planning to start sometime Friday evening around 9 or 10pm and then finish at that same time on Sunday evening.  In even more exciting news, this year the 48HBC has a theme.  To support the critically important cause and message behind the WeNeedDiverseBooks campaign, this year’s challenge will be dedicated to celebrating, promoting, sharing, reading, and reviewing diverse books and diverse authors!

While this weekend involves some very specific scheduling restrictions due to our school’s commencement activities, it also feels like an ideal time to participate in a reading challenge like this.  I’m trying to reflect on my past year’s work, prepare for a new year of work, and say goodbye to some students I’ve been lucky enough to teach and work with over the past few years.  So I appreciate the opportunity to make a dent in my every-growing To Be Read pile and recharge myself through reading & writing about some great books.

I will post lengthier updates here and (obviously) shorter updates on Twitter.  I have a ridiculously overambitious pile of potential reads for the weekend.  I cannot imagine that I will read even half of them but I decided I wanted to treat myself with lots of options.

IMG_1364

Some of the many titles I’m considering for this weekend!

brown girl dreamingthe secret skyOn my Kindle, I have a big backlog of e-galleys to tackle over the next few months.  This weekend I might read my e-galleys of Brown Girl Dreaming – Jacqueline Woodson or The Secret Sky – Atia Abawi. 

I am also reading It’s Complicated: The Social Lives of Networked Teens by danah boyd and I will likely include some pages from that book in my final count.

Remember, it’s not too late to join in and participate this weekend!  Check out the main 48HBC post for more information.  Either way, please feel free to follow along with the challenge via the Starting Line post that will go up on MotherReader’s blog tomorrow or by following #48hbc on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

