48HBC Update #5

48hbc_new Wow! The challenge is nearing the end for me since I’ll be sleeping a chunk of my last several hours before I officially finish tomorrow morning at 7am.  But so far, I’m feeling really pleased with my progress!  I also really appreciate all the blog comment and Twitter conversations  I’ve had with other participants.  I have so many new blogs to add to my list 🙂

So here’s my latest quick review:

cadet of tildorThe Cadet of Tildor – Alex Lidell

I’m a big fantasy reader and my preferred sub-type of fantasy fiction is high fantasy with strong world building and, even more importantly, strong complex female protagonists.  So  The Cadet of Tildor was on my TBR pile as soon as I heard about it!  I decided to read it this weekend after hearing a fairly positive review from one of my students–a voracious fantasy reader.

Overally, I found Cadet an enjoyable debut fantasy adventure that will likely appeal to fans of Tamora Pierce, Kristin Cashore, & Rae Carson.  The world is interesting–definitely reminiscent of Pierce’s semi-medieval Tortall (especially as portrayed in her Beka Cooper series).  Renee de Winter is the last remaining female cadet in the senior class at the Academy where Servants–the most elite officers in the Crown’s human arsenal–train.  Renee is an appealing protagonist–prickly, determined, headstrong, brave, and sensitive.  She has a strong sense of her duty and a moral core focused on her role in enforcing the Crown’s law.  I enjoyed watching Renee grow as she faces the physical challenges of being a woman in a man’s world and the intellectual & emotional challenges of acting ethically in a world where everyone has an agenda and right & wrong behavior can’t be easily aligned with legal & illegal behavior.  However, I do think the novel is burdened with an overabundance of story lines and occasionally I felt a bit overwhelmed by quick shifts in events and by the constant juggling of characters and plot events.

But overall, I’m giving The Cadet of Tildor a solid 4/5 stars and I plan to recommend it to my fantasy fans this fall!

I’m also really enjoying my gradual listen to the audiobook of Holly Black’s Doll Bones!

Challenge Update:

Hours Read: 12.5 hours (+ 1.25 hours listening to Doll Bones)

Hours Blogged:  3.25 hours

Social Networking: .75 hours

48HBC Hours Current Total: 16.5 hours

Books Read: 5.25 books (+ first 4 chapters of Doll Bones)

Pages Read: 1,929 pages ( + first 4 chapters of Doll Bones)

3 thoughts on “48HBC Update #5

  1. “Doll Bones” was in my stack too! But I won’t get to it. I’ll also be sleeping & then finishing at 7. If only we didn’t need to sleep! Think of how much reading we’d get done! The woes of being mere mortals are great…

Leave a Reply

