48HBC Update #4: Day 2!

48hbc_newWow! Day 2 is underway and I want to put out a quick update before I head out for my Sunday morning activities.  Since my last update, I’ve finished another book and started an audiobook.

0-545-21511-0 The Romeo And Juliet Code – Phoebe Stone

I added this middle grade novel to my TBR pile as part of my goal to read more younger middle grade novels, especially those currently popular with student in our Lower School (grades 4-6) library.  Sadly, this particular novel didn’t work for me.  I like the historical setting, the codes & code-breaking, several sweet romances, and family secrets.  And I completely understand the story’s appeal to its population–a light romance, a bit of historical espionage, and a mystery to solve.  However, Felicity’s voice just didn’t work for me.  Occasionally her tone became a little prissy or sanctimonious–which didn’t match her bold and mischievous actions.  And certain repeated phrases and statement gave the impression that she was trying a too hard sound British–rather than sounding genuinely British.  So for me, I’m going to just give this one 2.5/5 stars.  But I’m interested to hear other’s thoughts about it!

However, I also started an audiobook of Holly Black’s new Doll Bones and so far am finding it utterly delightful!  I plan to start reading The Cadet of Tildor by Alex Lidell next!

Challenge Update:

Hours Read: 9.5 hours (+ .75 hour listening to Doll Bones)

Hours Blogged:  2.5 hours

Social Networking: .5 hours

48HBC Hours Current Total: 12.5 hours

Books Read: 4.25 books (+ first 2 chapters of Doll Bones)

Pages Read: 1,521 pages ( + first 2 chapters of Doll Bones)

One thought on “48HBC Update #4: Day 2!

  1. I’m glad to hear I wasn’t the only one who was frustrated by these things. I tried, and I must admit, failed to read this book. I gave up only a couple of chapters in because of the tone and writing style.

Leave a Reply

