48HBC Update #3

48hbc_newWhew! I’m nearing the last several hours of Day 1!  And while I’ve spent about 3.75 hours of the time since my last update attending the graduation ceremony at my school and it was a lovely break and a great chance to see off our great seniors.  But now I’m back and I’ve finished another fabulous book!

white catWhite Cat – Holly Black

I’ve been meaning to start reading Holly Black’s The Curse Workers series for a couple years now and I’m so glad that I used the Challenge as an excuse to grab a copy and read it.  This is a sharp, sexy genre-blender of a novel.  White Cat mixes classic noir, mob mystery, and urban fantasy–and the result is a dark, twisting thriller that plays with questions of family, identity, power, and morality.  Cassel is fascinating protagonist and narrator and his friends & family are equally interesting characters.  I’m definitely planning to pick up the rest of the series this summer!  A criminally good 4/5 stars from me and a full review to come!

Challenge Update:

Hours Read: 7.25 hours

Hours Blogged: 2 hours

Social Networking: .5 hours

48HBC Hours Current Total: 9.75 hours

Books Read: 3.25 books

Pages Read: 1,225 pages

5 thoughts on “48HBC Update #3

  1. Well, one good thing about getting to a series late is that you don’t have to wait impatiently for the following books to come out. I liked White Cat but have to say that, in my opinion, this is one series in which I think the second book is even better than the first.

Leave a Reply

